Home » Bipolar » Depressives Post Challenge Question ~ Day 10

Depressives Post Challenge Question ~ Day 10

red broken heart

Being that we are meeting on WordPress, it is fairly possible to assume that we are very sensitive to words, lyrics, verse and poetry.  The written form describes how we feel, but we also create imagery with photographs to share the idea.

I am very sensitive to words — obsessing, ruminating, replaying them in my mind over and over and over…You get the idea.

For me, I have always been interested in the lyrics of a song. One of the joys of the singers and songwriters of the 70’s is that the lyrics were often written first and then followed by music. Or, if there was a bar of music, a guitar riff or a piano libretto (for all the Music majors, hope I got that right) then a suitable chorus had to be written.

There was a wonderful quality of music and pride in the lyrics.  A lot of the music of the 2000’s and indie artists use their acoustic skills and write some wonderful songs too.

For me, “Fix You” by Coldplay always describes my depression. Granted, Chris Martin wrote it for the uber-svelte, uber-blonde, uber-natural Goop Queen Gwyneth Paltrow.  However, each time I hear the lyrics:

When you try your best, but you don’t succeed
When you get what you want, but not what you need
When you feel so tired, but you can’t sleep
Stuck in reverse

And the tears come streaming down your face
When you lose something you can’t replace
When you love someone, but it goes to waste

I think that is definitely someone who knows someone who is depressed and described it very well.  Of course, the wonder is that he sings about loving her so dearly that he will try to ignite her bones and fix her.  How wonderful would it be to hear about that kind of love? and for me?

We don’t always get someone willing to go that deep with us or travel to the depths of our soul and the bone-weary sadness of depressive states and conditions.  I wish I had someone who would light my way and guide me home (but only in a temporary way); I don’t want to harm myself or anyone else.

Are there lyrics in a song that really reach your soul and describe what your mood disorder feels like?

2 thoughts on “Depressives Post Challenge Question ~ Day 10

  1. I always thought the song was talking about about him being totally in love with someone and losing them. It’s funny how two people can see different meanings from the same words. I guess we would have to ask Chris Martin to know for sure 🙂

    Nice Blog

    • True, I don’t really know what his motivation was and I did not research it. I thought perhaps it came from the loss of a baby that she miscarried, but there are plenty of reasons for a heartbreak song. That is why we identify with the lyrics.

      Thank you for the compliment and so glad you joined in!

Leave a Reply

