Home » Anxiety » Depressives Post Challenge Question of the Day ~ Day 5

Depressives Post Challenge Question of the Day ~ Day 5

tequila sunrise

One of the most misleading sounding aspects, and not nearly as fun, of taking medication is being given a “cocktail.”

Now I understand that just means adding a whole bunch of different classes of drugs to hopefully create one whole person. That works if your name is Harvey Wallbanger, but not everyone enjoys the experience.

I was on a unipolar antidepressant for years until I went into a manic state from one. While I tried to explain to the doctor which drug triggered it, and that I wanted to get off of it, he just kept increasing it and added in Xanax for good measure. Then when I complained enough, he withdrew it all at once. I went into a major depressive tailspin and ended up needing an intervention from a new professional.

Since then, I have been on a cocktail for anxiety, depression and mood stabilizer. Do I need all of them? I truly don’t know, but I am afraid to mess around with them. However, since my experience, I have been on a cocktail for the last six years.

In my mind, the only cocktail I really want is a Margarita!

Are you on a cocktail regimen? What is your favorite cocktail?

Leave a Reply

